The four categories of Cemeteries are –

A. Large Burial Grounds above 10,000 graves
B. Small/Medium Burial Grounds up to 10,000 graves


C. Parish, Town and Community Councils


D. Natural Burial Ground Provider


The competition will also include –

E. The BRAMM Memorial Design Award.

This is an opportunity for Memorial Masons to enter a FREE national competition and showcase their work. It will be open to any Memorial already erected in a Cemetery or Churchyard within the last 5 years.
If you (Memorial Mason) have a suitable memorial simply attach a photograph of the memorial (after obtaining permission from the family) maximum three entries per company. The memorial must be on a single grave space, it can be lawn, cremation or with kerbs/traditional memorial.
The memorial will be marked on its innovation, personalisation and originality by a team of Memorial Masons from BRAMM who are sponsoring this category.

To enter this competition click the button below:

BRAMM Memorial Design Awards 2022

The Cemetery application form is simple to complete and allows the applications to be marked objectively with pre-defined points allocated in each section. This will allow feedback to be given to each entrant showing not only their overall competition marks but also how they can improve and develop their cemeteries.

The deadline for all completed forms to be received is 31 July 2022. The best entries will receive notification in writing that they have reached the short-list of finalists. An adjudicator will then confirm the application information submitted and give advice on possible improvements.

The Gold Award Winning Cemetery/Memorial Mason in each category will receive £1000.00 prize money as well as a 'Cemetery of the Year 2022 Gold Certificate' along with a CYA press release that can be used to promote your work and achievements.

Runners up, in each category, will receive a 'Cemetery of the Year 2022 SILVER Certificate' and a CYA press release.

The Cemetery of the Year Awards Competition is designed not only to improve standards within Burial Grounds but also to encourage compliance with legislation and encourage best practice with information and support from leading Burial Authority Organisations.

Philips Park Cemetery
Large Burial Ground Winners 2021Philips Park Cemetery
Large Burial Ground Winners 2021

The Cemetery of the year Award 2022 has been supported and endorsed by –

  • Memorial Awareness Board (MAB)
  • Institute of Cemetery and Crematorium Management (ICCM)
  • The Federation of Burial and Cremation Authorities (FBCA)
  • The Society of Local Council Clerks (SLCC)
  • British Register of Accredited Memorial Masons (BRAMM)